Department of Mathematics
Site map | Search

Duke University


This is our old website. Please go to our current site at Please let us know if any resources you need at this old site are becoming inaccessible due to the change.

General Information

The Duke Mathematics Department currently comprises 30 tenured and tenure track faculty, 5 teaching faculty, 27 postdocs, and 53 graduate students. We have about 98 undergraduate mathematics majors and 41 minors. The number of mathematics majors who graduated in 2014-15 was 48; 28 mathematics minors also graduated. You can learn more about what happens in the department by consulting our newsletter, The Duke Math News.

The research interests of the department span significant areas of pure and applied mathematics which are described on our groups and centers page. Each year the department sponsors the Gergen Lectures, given by distinguished speakers.

Contact Information
Mathematics Department   [mail]
Duke University, Box 90320
Durham, NC 27708-0320

For package delivery, please use:
Recipient's Name
Duke University Math Department
120 Science Drive
Rm 117 Physics Bldg
Durham, NC 27708
ph:  919.660.2800
fax: 919.660.2821 

Directions for reaching the department

Departmental Officers

Interim Chair: Professor Paul Aspinwall
Associate Chair: Professor Paul Aspinwall
Director of Undergraduate Studies: Professor Les Saper
Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies: Professor Sarah Schott
Director of Graduate Studies: Professor Rick Durrett
Supervisor of First-year Instruction: Professor Clark Bray 
ph:  919.660.2800
fax: 919.660.2821

Mathematics Department
Duke University, Box 90320
Durham, NC 27708-0320