Department of Mathematics
Site map | Search

Duke University


L. P. and Barbara Smith Award for Teaching Excellence

Description and Background of the Award

This teaching award was made possible by a generous donation from Captain L. P. Smith and Barbara Smith, who established a fund in 1981 for this purpose. Captain Smith had been Supervisor of First-year Instruction in the Mathematics Department from 1973 until his retirement in 1982. The Smiths' goal was to reward those graduate students who work hard to become fine teachers.

The award is presented annually to one or two (or rarely more) graduate students who have demonstrated a long-term commitment to teaching and whose teaching has reached a consistent level of excellence. This award carries with it both the recognition by the Mathematics Department of the graduate student's fine teaching and also a substantial monetary prize.

Winners of the Award

The following is a complete list of the winners of the award. The recipients are listed by academic year, with the most recent winners listed first.

Brian Fitzpatrick
Brian Fitzpatrick
Caitlin Leverson
Caitlin Leverson
Brian Fitzpatrick and Caitlin Leverson
Phillip Andreae and Andrew Goetz
Brian Fitzpatrick and Sean Lawley
Christopher O'Neill and Esteban Chavez
Sarah Schott and Michael Pruitt
2009-2010Alan Parry and Sarah Schott
2008-2009Tiffany Kolba and Jeff Jauregui
2007-2008Rann Bar-On
2006-2007Paul Bendich
2005-2006Michael Nicholas and Joseph Spivey
2004-2005Thomas Laurent, Bill LeFew, Dan Yasaki, and Wenjun Ying
2003-2004Dave Anderson, John Cain, and Tim Lucas
2002-2003Christian Benes, Michael Kozdron, and Chris Hale
2000-2001Christian Benes, Michael Kozdron, and Ted Welsh
1999-2000Ted Welsh
1998-1999Laura Taalman
1997-1998Laura Taalman
1996-1997Chad Fargason
1995-1996Anna Georgieva and Chris Odden
1994-1995Beth Brooks and Jim Rolf
1993-1994Keener Hughen and Kevin Knudson
1992-1993Sharad Chaudhary and Rick Clelland
1991-1992Scott Gordon and Emily Puckette
1990-1991Shandelle Henson and Chris Peterson
1989-1990Al Bourgeois and Mickey McDonald
1988-1989Tom Polaski and Tien-Yu Sun
1987-1988Jeanne Nailor and Bill Mueller
1986-1987Teresa Gonzales
1985-1986Donna Gates Sylvester
1984-1985Julie Kimbell
1983-1984David Hartz and David Massey
1982-1983Bruce Pitman and Les Reid
1981-1982Lewis Blake, Joe Fehribach, and Karen Israel 
ph:  919.660.2800
fax: 919.660.2821

Mathematics Department
Duke University, Box 90320
Durham, NC 27708-0320